Posted by: post4apocalypse | July 7, 2008

Guitar Angel

One day in Golden Gate Park
Santana was playing a free concert
I saw my angel dancing gaily
in a long white flowing skirt

Dangling from her swan like neck
long strings of brightly colored beads
Oye Como Va
twirling circles endlessly

To the beat of Afro-Cuban rhythms
she kept an impossible pace
Flowing hair and colorful beads
encircling her radiant face

I picked a wildflower
from a nearby field growing
Would she wear it in her hair?
I was helplessly hoping

I approached quite slowly
adoration plainly showing
Her piercing blue eyes knowing
angelic aura glowing

Behind her ear she put my flower
I looked longingly into her lovely face
As the beat of the music grew slower
we came together in a dancing embrace

I held my angel so tightly
my heart fluttered with love’s pang
Carlos’ guitar sang Samba Pa Ti
yin matched perfectly with yang

Summer of Love photo by Robert Altman

Summer of Love photo by Robert Altman


Leave a comment

Categories